Skip to content

Taste Of England — Wensleydale Cheese Bites With Almonds And Honey

May 11, 2013

“Cheese has always been a food that both sophisticated and simple humans love.” – M.F.K. Fisher, How to Cook a Wolf (1942)

IMG_8341

Green pastures, healthy cows, and luscious cheese!

I am talking about the beautiful Yorkshire of England where Wensleydale cheese comes from. Click on the link to view a video.

Recently, I received a wedge of this cheese from a friend.  The real deal from Yorkshire!  Studded with cranberries, it smelled sweet and cheesy, of course. It brought back memories of my visit to England a couple years ago where I indulged in it wholeheartedly.

IMG_8310

It has crumbly texture and is mild, creamy, and slightly sweet.  Eaten fairly young within weeks, flavors get complex as it ages.  It does take center stage on any cheeseboard, but goes wonderfully well with fruits and hot desserts like fruit pies and crumbles as well.

After a few trips to the fridge and couple nibbles, I had to make something with it.  The simplest thing to make was these cheesy bites with the ingredients on hand in my pantry.  I happened to have some Cornish sea salt and English honey as well bringing a true taste of England in my kitchen.  I think all the elements of this recipe came together well complimenting each other.

IMG_8354

These cheesy bites are really easy with very little preparation.  I kept them simple and rustic.  You could toast the bread, if you wish.  I think this creamy cheese goes well with almonds and honey.  A few fennel seeds made it even more interesting.  But basil pleasantly surprised me.  When taste buds were experiencing creamy, nutty, sweet, fragrant, and salty notes, basil finished this tasty treat with a punch of freshness in my mouth.  More like a palate cleanser before I was ready for another one.

A perfect snack with a cup of tea.

IMG_8318

Recipe

Whole grain bread

Wensleydale cheese with cranberries or any sweet cheese

Almonds, coarsely chopped

Fennel seeds

Honey

Sea salt

Basil leaves

Cut bread slices into desired shapes.  Layer with chunks of cheese and almonds.  Sprinkle a few fennel seeds, and drizzle honey on top.  Finish with a pinch of sea salt and basil.

IMG_8323

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2013 9:21 am

    Wensleydale is a cheese I’m very fond of. We can buy it plain, with cranberries, apricots, ginger. Think plain is my favourite as I can add the dried cranberries myself. Can imagine basil goes well with it. Bit of a basil fan so I think it goes well with most things. Wensleydale is good on oatcakes too as good ones have a lovely nutty flavour.

    • May 21, 2013 11:53 pm

      I agree, plain is always better. You can flavor it as you like. Been enjoying some cheddar oatcakes from England as well.

  2. May 13, 2013 4:52 pm

    ooh yum! Only just saw this cheese in my local store the other day, will have to get some to try out your lovely combo.

  3. May 15, 2013 7:19 am

    Wenslydale and cranberry is one of my favourite cheeses and we buy it often! Generally I’m not in favour of ‘added value’ cheese but this one just works so well. I love your almond / honey / fennel seed combination, it looks and sounds really good and I think you have created a dish that makes something great even better!

  4. May 26, 2013 7:14 am

    I’ve always loved this cheese. What a great way to serve it. I’m going to pin this post if you don’t have any objections. Carol

  5. August 2, 2013 10:02 am

    I love this flavor combination, Renu, and the photos are, as always, beautiful

    • August 3, 2013 1:41 pm

      Thanks Jonell. I use these ingredients often, and they compliment the cheese well. Little pleasures of life :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

